for violin and piano (2000)

Commissioned by Chee-Yun and Spoleto USA
Premiere: Seoul Arts Center, Korea 2000
Duration 4:00

Air for violin employs a soaring melody from Arches for solo violin. Intended as an encore, Air features this melody in contrasting registers with the piano providing either rich, chordal accompaniment or delicate figurations in the highest registers of the piano. The piece lasts approximately four minutes.

−Kevin Puts