for brass ensemble and organ (1996)

Commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra
Premiere: Kennedy Center, Washington, DC, 1996
National Symphony Orchestra, Christoph Perick, conductor
Duration 3:00

Continuo was one of twenty-five fanfares commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra in 1995 and marked my first professional commission. Scored for orchestral brass and organ, this three-minute work evolves from a simple pulse and the use of chromatically-related triads pitted against one another in various ways. The Washington Post wrote of the premiere, "I was taken by the opening fanfare, and fascinating work by a composer barely into his twenties. Continuo reminded me of some spiritual meeting between the Renaissance composer Gabrieli and the contemporary composer Steve Reich, and a happy meeting at that."

−Kevin Puts